Eggs and Beans

Yesterday I was at work, and I had made myself an incredibly yummy but not-so-good-looking breakfast of eggs and refried beans. (Hey, don’t knock it till you’ve tried it.  Unless you’re allergic to eggs or beans.  Then feel totally free to knock it without trying it.)  My coworker took one look at it and commented on how disgusting it looked.  I then said, “But it tastes good!”

I’ve been thinking about that exchange.

Isn’t that so relatable with life?  We as a society judge a book (or a person…) by its cover ALL. THE. TIME.  How often do we write off a person before we have discovered his or her true worth?  How quickly we forget that we were each created in the image of God, for an amazing purpose.

As a person who has been overweight for… well, pretty much ever, I can relate.  Don’t get me wrong- I am definitely not about to start throwing myself a pity party about how terrible people are to me and how nobody likes me because I’m fat.  First of all, neither of those notions are true.  I have so many amazing people in my life who don’t care what I look like- they see who I am.  But there are always going to be the few with a snide remark or a disgusted look and a preconceived notion about my activity level and eating habits.

Those people do not know me.  They do not know about my years-long struggle with an eating disorder, or the fact that I like to jog and ran two 5Ks this past year.  Furthermore, they do not know about my relationship with God, my musical abilities, or the fact that I graduated 6th in my class from high school and with a 3.5 GPA from college.  Who could know those things from one look?

Rome was not built in a day, and one blog post isn’t going to change the world.  But wouldn’t it be cool to see what would happen if we resist the urge to judge people on the first look or first impression and write them off before discovering the diamond underneath?

One thought on “Eggs and Beans

Leave a Reply

